Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Hello stranger(s)! Oh, am I the stranger? I guess I am. I’m sorry 😦 I have no good excuse for you. None. But here I am, and that’s what really matters, right? Right. Let’s go with that.

On to the food!

So, on Saturday, I felt inspired and went to the Farmer’s Market in Falls Church, VA. Wow, was it vibrant and busy! So many awesome stands, so many awesome people. My first stop was the stand I have bought eggs from before…I had cheated on them and bought eggs at the grocery store so, to repent, I gave them like 20 empty egg cartons. Then, I walked around to get a first look. So many stands sell similar things, I wanted to make sure I made good choices!

Here’s what I ended up with!

Right there you have: Royal Trumpet Mushrooms, a bunch o’ basil, horseradish pickles, fresh Kielbasa, onion cheese curd (GREAT for grilled cheese!), and Wisconsin Style Brats. Yum to the yum squared. I used the mushrooms and basil for this meal!

First off heated up about a tablespoon of olive oil and threw in my chopped up onion and garlic. Once the onion turned translucent I tossed in the chopped mushroom and poured in about a half cup of beef broth. I tossed in a pinch of salt and a couple turns of the pepper grinder as well as about 2 tsps of fresh thyme leaves. I let this cook down until all the broth was evaporated. Took the mushroom mixture off the heat and went to work on the rest of the filling!

Here’s where my fresh ricotta comes in! Holy crap, I made cheese. Holy. Crap. I’m pretty excited about this because it’s so easy. But, I’ll go over that in another post. Gotta keep you kids on your toes! Here it is in all its cheesy goodness!

I mixed 3/4 cup ricotta with 1/2 cup freshly shredded parmesan cheese in a medium bowl. Then I added the mushroom mixture and mixed and mixed until it was as homogeneous as it was gonna get!

I set this in the fridge to await the dough!

Dough time. I did my thing with the flour and the eggs, yadda yadda. Again, another time πŸ˜‰

Dough! Each of these little balls means 12 raviolis! Yay!

Time to involve my favorite kitchen partner:

The kitchenaid. And my fancy shmancy pasta roller!!

I rolled the dough down to the smallest or next to smallest setting and went on to my ravioli maker!

This guy is tricky. But after this round of ravioli (my second attempt) I think I’ve got it. I think. First of all, take a teaspoon (meagerly filled) and put in each well of the ravioli maker.

Then, I rolled out the second half of my first dough ball and created a top sheet! After wetting down all the seams, I put the top sheet on and attempted to take out my raviolis. You heard me, attempted.

Ew, what are those?! Those are ugly. Full of delicious, but ugly none the less. My raviolis were sticking to the ravioli maker! Sad face, Jessica. That was me. I did it this same way again because I’m dumb and a slow learner. So, I had two batches of wth ugly raviolis. Lame.

THEN, genius (ha) struck. I powdered down the ravioli maker with some corn flour and went at it again. YAY. They basically just fell out of the maker when I flipped it. Ah. Finally. Something I can be proud of!

Yeah right, I stole that picture from someone who can really make ravioli. Psh. KIDDING! Omg I did it! You can do it too. I promise! You don’t even need a ravioli tool. You can just lay out a sheet of dough on a flour-dusted counter, put on some filling, and cover and separate/cut out your raviolis!

To cook, bring salted water to a boil, pop in these suckers and stir so they don’t stick. Let cook for about 5 minutes and, voila! Ravioli!

Below, the Recipe:

  • One batch of pasta dough (mine had 2 cups of flour and 3 eggs)
  • 8-12 oz Fresh Mushrooms
  • 1/4 onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 tsps chopped fresh thyme
  • 1/2 cup beef broth
  • pinch of salt
  • 3 twists of pepper grinder (I know, suuuper accurate)
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated parmesan
  • 3/4 cup Ricotta cheese
  • olive oil

Saute the onions and garlic for about 2 minutes, until the onion is translucent. Add the mushrooms, thyme, salt, pepper, and beef broth. Simmer until the broth has evaporated. This shouldn’t take very long. Set aside and mix your cheeses in a medium bowl. Add the mushroom mixture and stir well to combine. Take your pasta dough and roll it through your pasta maker until it’s at the thinnest setting. Or, use a rolling pin to obtain the same thinness (I’ve never tried this). Put dough on ravioli maker and put 1 tsp of filling in each well. Wet the seams and cover with another layer of dough. Perform whatever ravioli magic your form of maker requires (ie. cut, roll, etc). Place ready raviolis on a flour dusted surface and repeat!

To eat, cook in boiling water for 5 minutes, stirring to make sure they don’t stick to the pan.

Enjoy!

Note, once you’ve made the ravioli, put it on a flour/corn flour dusted surface. If you’re going to keep the raviolis in the fridge or freezer, I’d recommend tossing both sides with the flour to keep it from sticking.  This should all come off when you cook it!

Have you ever made your own pasta or ravioli?  Do you have any good tricks?

