Tags

, , , , , ,

Mmm granola! My fiance loves to mix granola with yogurt and my friend, Nicole, loves granola too (so I’m giving some to her).  So, since we’d just run out at home, I was inspired to whip up my own batch! Annnd, since it was still the first week of autumn, I stuck with my pumpkin theme! Plus, pumpkin’s super healthy and makes a lovely addition to this granola. Once I’d decided to make granola I took a trip to our local Wegmans to peruse their bulk section for fun things to add.   I took my inspiration for amounts and spices from The Pastry Affair.  In the end, this is what I came up with:

Ingredients

  • 3/4 Cup Pumpkin Puree (NOT pumpkin PIE, plain ole’ 100% pumpkin!)
  • 1 Tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/4 Tsp Nutmeg
  • 1/8 Tsp Ground Ginger
  • 1/2 Tsp Salt
  • 1/3 Cup Brown Sugar
  • 1/8 Cup Maple Syrup
  • 1/8 Cup Agave Syrup
  • 1 Tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 3 Cups Rolled Oats
  • 1/2 Cup Millet
  • 1/2 Cup Flax Seed
  • 3/4 Cup Dried Cranberries
  • 1/4 Cup Raisins
  • 1/2 Cup Toasted Almonds
  • 1/4 Cup Unsweetened Flaked Coconut
  • 1/4 Cup Roasted Pumpkin Seeds
  • 1/8 Cup Toasted Sunflower Seeds

Pre-heat oven to 350°.

Take a large (preferably rimmed) baking sheet and line it with parchment paper.

In a large bowl combine the pumpkin through the salt.  Stir in the brown sugar and maple & agave syrups. Mix in the remaining ingredients and stir until everything is evenly coated.  This mixture should be moist.

Spread out your granola on the baking dish. Put in the oven and bake for about 20 minutes. Take it out and stir/flip/flop that granola around so that it can cook evenly. Put it back in the oven and let cook another 15-20 minutes. Allow to cool and then store it in an air tight container. It might look wet when you take it out, but it’ll crisp up as it cools!

This is delicious with yogurt, or as a dry cereal with milk, or as a snack on the go in a baggy!

