Tags

, , , ,


Well, they’re green, aren’t they?! As an appetizer for the party I made bacon-wrapped stuffed Jalapenos! Those are pretty much all the major food groups! Vegetables (…), dairy, meat, uh…yeah! Healthy!…

Well, healthy or not, they’re delicious!

First, I scooped out the innards out of most of them. The rest I left sizzlin’ hot! Then I stuffed them full of cheesy goodness, wrapped them in bacon, poked them with toothpicks, slid them into a hot oven, and baked until that bacon was crispy!

Cheesy Stuffing

  • 8 oz Neufchâtel Cream Cheese
  • 6 oz Shredded Cheese of your liking (I used Monterrey & Cheddar)
  • 2 Cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 1/2 Tsp Salt
  • 1/4 Tsp Ground Pepper

Take 1 lb of bacon and cut into thirds. Mix the cheesy stuffing ingredients together. Spoon each jalapeno half full of cheesy stuffing and wrap with a bacon third (I stretched each out a bit). Secure with toothpick. Repeat until you are out of jalapenos. I had 12 jalapenos. And leftover cheesy stuffing.

Also, for the jalapenos that I kept spicy, I permanent markered the tip of the toothpicks that I stuck in those, so people wouldn’t eat spicy if they didn’t want it. It worked out…for the observant 😉


Now, now, before you go and have a hissy fit, I did have a real vegetable dish!! Crisp fresh green beans cooked to perfection and tossed with butter, toasted almonds, and thyme! Mmmmm

Add about 2 lbs of Green Beans to boiling water. Cook for five minutes, drain and immediately submerge in ice cold water to stop the cooking. This keeps them deliciously crisp! Melt a 1/2 stick of butter in a frying pan and add in 1 Minced Garlic Clove. Cook for 1 minute and then add 2 Tbsp of fresh thyme (or the equiv of dried), 1 Tbsp Dijon Mustard and 1/2 Tsp Salt. Heat these up for about a minute and add in your drained green beans. Toss to coat (and to reheat) for about four minutes.

Put the finished green beans in a serving dish and sprinkle 1/3 cup of Toasted Almonds on top!

I love these tasty green beans. Even though I hate hate HATE trimming green beans, these make it all worth it in the end!

