Tags

, , , , , ,

I mean cupcakes.  Carrot cake is one of my all-time-favorite kinds of cakes.  Why isn’t it my very VERY favorite?  Because I find it difficult to pick favorites, in general.  No favorite color, no favorite baseball team, no favorite book, no favorite movie.  I have things I like, things I love, things I dislike and things I hate (kale).

Ok, back to the important stuff – these cupcakes!  I knew I had to make carrot cake cupcakes.  They are my first-day-of-autumn-must-make dessert, every year! So, in essence, every year I get a little hip/booty boost at the beginning of fall. Mmmmm carrot cake & cream cheese!

Ingredients:

Carrot Cake

  • 2 Cups Sugar
  • 1 1/3 Cup Canola Oil
  • 1 1/2 Tsps Vanilla Extract
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 Cups All Purpose Flour
  • 1 Tsp Salt
  • 2 Tsps Baking Soda
  • 2 Tsps Ground Cinnamon
  • 1/2 Tsp Baking Powder
  • 3 Cups Grated Carrots
  • 1 Cup Raisins
  • 1 Cup Chopped Walnuts (Or Pecans)

Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 3/4 Lb Neufchâtel Cream Cheese* (Room temp)
  • 1/2 Lb Unsalted Butter
  • 1 Tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 Lb Confectioners’ Sugar

*Definitely just as tasty as regular cream cheese, easier to mix, AND fewer calories and less fat!  Win, win, win!

Pre-heat the oven to 350°.

Beat the sugar, oil & vanilla together in an electric mixer using the paddle attachment. Add the eggs, 1 at a time. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder & salt. Turn your mixer on low and slowly add the dry mixture. Add the carrots, raisins & walnuts and mix until combined.

Line your muffin pans with paper or foil liners, unless you want them naked.  In which case, just make sure your pan is well-greased/Pam’d!  Pour enough batter into each cup to make them about 3/4 full to get appropriate muffin top!

Bake for approx 35-45 minutes, or until a toothpick/cake tester comes out clean.  Cool these delicious morsels on a rack.

Now it’s time for the delectable frosting!  Clean out that electric mixer to get it ready for its next job!  On a medium-high speed, mix up the cream cheese, butter, and vanilla in the bowl of the mixer.  Add the sugar and beat until smooth.

Once the cupcakes are nice and cool (please wait till they’re cool or your icing will melt and slide off!) frost those little cupcakes of goodness and serve proudly!

It would be wise to take the majority with you to work, to avoid the previously related hip/booty boost. Or not!

