Tags

, ,

If you know me, you know that I love avocados.  Avocados and I have been in love since I was a wee babe.  True love.  So, when I stumbled upon this recipe at http://www.loveandoliveoil.com I knew what I had to do: put it in my mouth.  Coincidentally (fate?), I had picked up some fresh corn, a lovely end of the summer tomato, and an onion at the farmers market over the weekend.  Perfect!  All the other ingredients I had on hand so last night I whipped these puppies up (took no time at all, really) and we did what we had to do with them: put them in our hungry mouths.

Ingredients:

For Salsa:

– 2 large tomatoes
– 4 tablespoons cilantro
– 2/3 cup white onion
– 2 garlic cloves
– 2 tablespoon lime juice
– 2 avocados

For Corn Cakes:

– 2 cups fresh corn kernels
– 1 cup flour
– 1/2 cup cornmeal
– 1 teaspoon baking powder
– 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
– 1 teaspoon kosher salt
– 1 tablespoon sugar
– 2 eggs, lightly beaten
– 2 tablespoons milk

Chop up the tomatoes, onion, garlic, and cilantro and put them into a medium bowl.  Chop the avocados and reserve separately for dinner time.  This is your salsa!

Preheat the oven to 200°.

Cut the corn off the cob (you’ll need approx 2 cobs if you aren’t using frozen corn.  Oh and don’t use canned corn please, just don’t!)  and put into a food processor.  Lightly process until you have chunks of corn.  We are not looking for a corn puree here.  Pour your chunky corn into a large bowl and add the remaining ingredients.  Stir until just combined.  Heat up a frying pan on the stove and add a good amount of olive oil.  Once the olive oil is hot use a tablespoon to scoop up heaping tablespoons of corn batter and drop them into the pan.  Don’t crowd the pan, it’ll make it hard to flip them!  Heat each one up for 1-2 minutes a side, or until brown.  Transfer them to a plate in the oven while you cook the rest.

Once you are finished cooking, take the plate of warm corn cakes out of the oven, add the avocado to the salsa, serve together, and enjoy!  We really loved these!  So tasty!  However, word to the wise, I had them for lunch today and neglected to reheat them.  Not as good.  These are definitely meant to be served warm!  So that warm step is very important to the yum.

