Tags

, , ,

I hate kale.  I’ve never pretended I didn’t.  I’ve hated it since the first time I was forced to eat it in 2nd grade in Montana.  It’s bitter.  And gross.  Unfortunately for my taste buds, it is said to have mystical powers to bring you good fortune and health.  Well, mainly (only) health.  So, even though I’ve had a semi-recent experience with hating Kale, I decided to give it a go.  I heard recently, that you can make Kale into chips.  I.  Love.  Chips.  Now, I was rather certain these leaf-chips would taste nothing like my delectable carb-chips.  But in an effort to ingest more nutritious foods, I decided to try it out.

Be sure to preheat your oven to 400°.  Making kale chips is a pretty straight forward process.  After you’ve cleaned the Kale (unless you enjoy a lil’ extra dirt as seasoning) just chop it up into roughly 2″ pieces.  What I did was cut off the spine of each leaf and then chop whatever else I felt needed chopping.  Chopping is therapeutic to me.  Calming.  So, it was rather nice to spend a few minutes chopping each leaf of Kale into itty pieces!

The next step is to plop all that chopped up Kale in a bowl and drizzle olive oil all over those puppies.  Then hand toss them all around to ensure that they are well coated.  Since they are nice and coated with olive oil there is no need to grease the cooking sheet that you lay them out on.  Try your best to lay them out with no stacking.  One single sheet of Kale leafies.

My, this is a green post.  Once you’ve laid out the kale leaflets in a single layer, pop that baking sheet in the oven and let cook for 10-15 minutes.  Once you hit the 10 minute mark I’d recommend checking on them every minute or so.  I know, tedious, but I’ve learned from experience that they will go from chip to burnt chip like THAT.  They are done when the leave edges just start to turn blackish.  Remove from oven and swipe them off the baking sheet onto a heat-resistant surface to avoid cooking them further.  Be gentle, Kale chips are delicate.  Once that’s done sprinkle liberally with salt and enjoy!  Just remember, delicate.  So don’t try to carelessly grab a handful.  Like…I may have.  Oh I should probably mention that I did indeed enjoy these MUCH better than raw kale/kale in soup/kale in general.  Of course, they pale in comparison to my potato and corn chips but they aren’t bad!  An interesting not bad, kind of good flavor.  Especially with lots of salt.

