Tags

, , , , ,

Egg is back!  Spinach Ricotta Pie is one of my all time favorite pies.  I definitely favor savory over sweet.  Definitely.  Just ask my chip bags.  Oh wait, you can’t, they were demolished with uncanny speed.

This pie is made using the recipe from a Moosewood cookbook my family had when I was growing up.  I’m not really sure which parent made this and they get grumpy when I remember incorrectly so I’m just going to say that one of my parents made this when I was young and boy oh boy was it love at first mouthful!

Ingredients:

1 lb. ricotta cheese
3 beaten eggs
½ lb. chopped spinach (fresh is best, but frozen and squeezed dry is okay)
1 small, diced onion
Fresh ground black pepper
½ tsp. salt
½ tsp. basil
3 Tbs. flour
½ cup grated sharp cheese
Dash nutmeg
1 Cup sour cream
Paprika

Man, even writing this makes my mouth water.  See, I took these photos back before I got uber duber busy this summer.  Sorry for the extended hiatus.  Work travel, personal travel, etc took over my life for a while.  So, I don’t have any on hand to stuff in my mouth, nor is stuffing it in my mouth a recent memory.  Unfortunate.

This pie is incredibly simple to make.  Nothing fancy happening here.

First, prepare the crust by cutting together 1 cup flour and 1/3 cup cold butter.  This can easily be done in your food processor.  Process until you have a crumbly mixture.  Once you are done with this, mix in 3 Tbsp cold buttermilk (or water if you want to make it lower-cal – but honestly, what’s the point.  Not going to make a significant dent :)).  This addition will allow you to form a ball with the dough.  If not wet enough to do that yet, feel free to add more cold liquid, a teeny bit at a time until you can achieve dough ball form!  Wrap this in saran wrap and stick it into the fridge for an hour.

Alternatively, you can use a store-bought pie crust.  But don’t get fancy with a silly graham cracker crust.  That wouldn’t go well.  Or maybe it would?

Preheat the oven to 375.

Meanwhile, begin the tasty filling!  If you’re using frozen spinach, be sure to wring out all the extra moisture after you thaw it out.  If using fresh spinach, move on forward!  Heat up some olive oil (or grape seed or canola) in a medium frying pan.  Add the spinach, onion, salt & basil and pepper to taste (just a bit!).  Once the onions are transparent and everything is heated through, mix all of the filling ingredients together in a bowl.  That means everything left on that list of ingredients aside from the crust, the sour cream, and the paprika.

Remove the dough ball from the fridge and roll out the dough on a floured surface until it’s the right size to put into your pie dish.  Grease your pie dish (or PAM it), lay the crust over it and press it gently to conform.

Sometimes I like to use my fork to make the edge of the crust pretty.   But not this time.

Once this is done pour the delicious looking, smelling, and tasting filling on top of the crust.

Mmmmm it’s so close.  So.  Close.

Now, top it off with that sour cream, sprinkle paprika on top to make it beautiful and pop it in the oven!  Bake this baby for 40-45 minutes, or until the crust is golden brown and the smell is turning you into a crazed pie-avor.

Remove from the oven and torture yourself for 10-15 minutes while this gem lets off some steam on a cooling rack.   Then, finally, cut a wedge off and enjoy!  This is also delicious as a chilled dish.  It’s really delicious no matter what.  If you don’t believe me I guess the only way to find out is to make it!


