Tags

, , , , ,

Twinkie here. I know Egg’s been waiting for me to whip this one out of my back pocket, so here we go.

A few weeks ago, our friend Lime celebrated a very happy birthday!  In honor of another wonderful year of friendship and giggles with my favorite fruit, I decided to bake Lime my famous Triple Layer Chocolate Glaze Cheesecake. I say famous, but this is really only the third time I’ve made it.  And I say Triple Layer Chocolate Glaze, but I decided to forego the Chocolate Glaze part.  So it was just Triple Layer Cheesecake.  Gotta mix it up a little, you know.

Let’s start with the ingredients.  Everything you see in the picture below, plus more boxes of cream cheese and more tubs of sour cream, mm mm healthy! : )



I suppose the zero layer is the chocolate graham cracker crust.  The easy part is mixing up crushed graham crackers with lots of sugar and even more melted butter.  The hard part is pressing that stuff into the springform pan evenly and up the sides.  It’s hard to get it to stick on the sides (2 inches up) without it crumbling back down — even with all that butter!  But keep at it!  Press press press.

The first (real) layer of this glorious dessert is the Chocolate layer.  I combined a package of cream cheese with 1/4 cup of sugar, beat the fluff out of it (ha ha!) then added an egg and 1/4 tsp of vanilla extract.  That’s the base.  The chocolate part calls for 2 oz of melted semisweet, but since I’m so adventurous, I opted for dark chocolate. I used the double broiler method to melt the chocolate, because I did it in the microwave once a long time ago and it turned into crusty goop.  Lesson learned.  I’m guessing like me, most people don’t have an actual double broiler, so I straight up put the chocolate in a rice bowl, covered it with a pot cover, and but the rice bowl in a Wok full of water.  Did anyone mention that I’m Asian?  Anyway, I then mixed the chocolate into the base mixture along with 1/3 cup of sour cream.  All that goodness goes right over the graham cracker crust.

Layer 2. The Pecan Layer.  This base consists of another package of cream cheese, 1/3 cup of firmly packed brown sugar, and 1 tbsp of flour.  Beat the fluff out of it.  Add an egg and 1/2 tsp of vanilla, and kick it some more.  Enter chopped pecans!  By chopped pecans, I really mean crushed pecans.  I folded some whole pecans into wax paper, and because I have neither a rolling pin or a meat cleaver, I used the biggest Asian butcher knife I have and smashed them to… well, pieces.  Add the pecans to the base and pour it all over the Chocolate layer.

The third layer is the Almond layer.  Not actual almonds, that would just be nutty!  Just almond extract, which I really really like.  The recipe called for 1/4 tsp of almond extract, but I ‘accidentally’ spilled a little… into the bowl.  Oops.  The rest of the third layer consists of more cream cheese and sugar, 1/4 tsp vanilla extract, another egg, and a cup of sour cream.  [Tangent: I realized a few days later that I had accidentally picked up Light sour cream instead of regular sour cream. I normally never opt for reduced fat/fat free ingredients because you can taste the difference, but this time, I couldn’t! Note to self: In the future, you can use light sour cream, and maybe even Neufchatel!]  Pour deliciousness over pecan layer.

I forgot to take a picture of this step!

So all that prepping takes a bit of time, especially if you’re slow like me and keep washing dishes after each layer to avoid a gigantic mess all at the end.  But the actual baking part takes much longer.  The entire Pan of Health and Longevity got thrown into the oven at 325 degrees for one hour.  After the hour is up, I turned the oven off, and left the cheesecake in there for 30 more minutes.  After those 30 minutes were up, I opened the oven door, and left the cheesecake in there for another 30 minutes while it taunted me with its sweet sweet smells wafting up my nostrils.  And then finally…

a weird looking yellow cheesecake!! I was a little concerned at first, but don’t worry, after cooling, covering, and chilling in the fridge for 8 hours, it comes out a lot nicer looking.

And because I skipped on the Chocolate Glaze this time, and I knew candles were going on this thing, I decorated with dark chocolate chips.


Three distinct layers!  In the words of Barney Stinson, WHAT UP!   high five.

And much thanks to Mom for giving me her old but awesome Oster stand mixer that I swear is from the 80s.  Hey, it works, and I’m grateful : ) (ps. happy birthday, Mom!)

I am going to somehow incorporate Nutella into the recipe next time I make this.  Suggestions?

Also, let me know if you’d like the actual recipe!

