Tags

, ,

The Indian cooking extravaganza ended with a bang on Friday night at L.A.’s house.   After work I hustled home, took care of our pups & packed up all my food and gear to head to Alexandria.  Once there I started on the final dishes: Chicken Tikka Masala, Herbed Basmati Rice and Saag.

To begin the Masala I combined the marinade ingredients in a bowl:

– 1 cup light yogurt
-1.5 tbsp lemon juice
– 2 tsps ground cumin
– 2 tsps cayenne pepper
– 2 tsps ground black pepper
– 1 tsp cinnamon
– 1 tsp salt
– 1 tbsp minced fresh garlic


Then I added 3 chopped up chicken boobs:

and I put it all in the fridge to let the lovely flavors soak in.  Nom nom.

While the marinade was infiltrating the chicken I started on the Saag.  I melted 1/2 cup butter (read, ENTIRE stick) in a nonstick pan and added 2 tsps cumin seed, 1 chopped up chili pepper, 2 chopped up cloves of garlic and 2 tbsps turmeric and cooked on medium-high for two minutes.    Then I stirred in 1 lb of chopped collard greens & a lb of chopped swiss chard and tossed until all the greens were

wilty.  I then added a tsp of coriander, a tsp of ground cumin, and a tsp of salt (or less) and fully incorporated.  I let this cook for about 10 minutes under cover.  I noticed there was too much liquid so i let it cook longer uncovered the liquid was no longer pooling.

Looks delish, huh.  It actually was quite tasty, despite it’s unappetizing appearance 🙂

Back to the masala!  After the chicken had marinated for an hour I performed the messy task of skewering all the little bite-sized chunks and putting them on a george foreman.  While they were grilling I melted 1 tbsp of butter in a nonstick pan and added 1 minced garlic clove, 1 chopped jalapeno pepper and sauteed for a minute.  I then tossed in 2 tsps of cumin, 2 tsps of paprika, 1 tsp of salt, 1 tsp of garam masala, 8 oz of

tomato sauce, and one cup of heavy cream.  I brought this to a simmer on low and let it go for about 20 minutes.  Once the chicken was semi-done and I’d cooked the marinade onto the meat I took the chicken pieces off of the skewers and tossed them into the masala while it simmered.  This is where I lost thescience.  I just went with my gut and cut open a couple pieces of chicken to ensure it was done.  Then, I transferred the tasty mixture to a bowl and garnished with 1/4 cup of chopped cilantro!

Somewhere in that time I had tossed a cup of jasmine rice in with 2 cups of water and set that to cook while under cover for about 20 minutes and took it off the heat once the water was absorbed.  I threw in some salt, pepper, fresh oregano, rosemary, currants and a generous helping of parmesan cheese and voila!  Herbed Basmati Rice!

FINIS!

The five of us (L.A. had a guest) set the table and dug in!  Triumph!  Everything was as tasty as though we were in an Indian restaurant!  Aside from the lemon-curry stuff.  Ew.

