Tags

, , , ,

Egg here! I have never, in my memory, had a successful experience with yeast and baking.  Last year I made cinnamon rolls from scratch – cinnamon rocks, was more like it. I have a fear of yeast-involved baking.  It’s a fear that stems from the unfamiliar, my bad-experience and my lack of experience.

Up until now I have been content to let it go and accept that I just don’t bake.  Enter fried marshmallow – my southern fiance, who I stole away from South Carolina.  He loves his bread.  He eats it for breakfast and lunch on a daily basis, and sometimes even for dinner.  I never appreciated the cost of bread until we began living together.

In an effort to improve finances (with the added bonus of improved nutritional value!) I have decided to tackle the process of bread baking, one loaf at a time.  Now, since my primary impetus is to save money, I am not going to purchase a bread machine at this point.   I really have no idea how long it takes to bake a loaf or two of bread manually, so I’m not entirely sure what I’m in for.

My first adventure will be:  Sunflower-Wheat Bread!

I’m excited.

