Tags

, , , , , ,


Dear chocolate, most of the time I’m just not that into you. It’s not you, it’s me. I just don’t feel it most of the time. Don’t feel bad, tons of people LOVE you. And the other day, I was, in fact, one of those people. It was a temporary but strong craving. So I came home from work and did what I had to do.


I made a cake. It was a pretty simple cake, so simple that it involved a boxed cake mix! I did change it up a bit though. It called for a quarter cup of oil, and I replaced that with a quarter cup of butter. Then it got crazy. Instead of water I mixed in 6 oz of Nonfat Greek Yogurt, 4 oz of Bailey’s liqueur, and 1 oz of Skim Milk. I poured it into a bundt pan and baked as directed. And then let it cool fully (this is a very important step).

I don’t bake a lot. It’s pretty evident when you look closely at the cake. It looks a little funny. That’s because silly me sprayed non stick spray on the pan and then coated it with flour. I’d like to point out that the pan was a dark non stick pan. They don’t need that kind of treatment. Oops. It resulted in weird light brown caked on flour. Didn’t affect the taste at all but it did look a little funny.

So thank goodness I poured Chocolate Ganache all over it!!

For that, I brought to a boil 1/3 cup of heavy whipping cream in a small saucepan. I had set in a bowl 3 oz of chopped up bittersweet chocolate, 1/2 Tbsp of corn syrup, and 1/2 Tbsp of unsalted butter. Once the cream comes to a boil, I poured it over the contents of the bowl and mixed until smooth.

I then proceeded to drizzle the deliciousness all over that crazy bundt cake.

The result definitely hit the spot. The substitution of the baileys/yogurt/milk for the water really made it the perfect combination of moist and dense. So amazing!

Where do you turn when your chocolate cravings hit?

