Tags

, , , , , , ,


Wait a minute, I thought it was April. What is this 90 degree weather that’s happening. Oh wait, back to 40 degrees. Nope, back up to 80! Guess what’s on the menu near us today? SNOW! Make up your dang mind, spring! When I think of spring I think of rain and 50-60 degree weather, which sounds beautiful to me. Yes, i LOVE rain. I love how it rejuvenates the landscape and washes away the day’s detritus. It’s just so FRESH!

Now, fresh weather gets me in the mood for fresh food. None of this cooking business! I’m not entirely sure what gave me the itch to make Summer Rolls (they are KIND OF like Spring Rolls that haven’t been fried) but I definitely caught it somewhere! And peanut sauce. Definitely peanut sauce. Mmmm peanut sauce.

I started out by compiling my fresh ingredients. Cellophane noodles, rice paper wrappers, some matchsticked carrots and cucumber, some bean sprouts, fresh mint and basil, and shrimpies! The shrimpies got special treatment. After I thawed them out (or not, if you get them fresh) I sliced them in half.

Bam. Little shrimpies, all halved.

Ok, so I lied. There’s a littttle cooking nonsense. You have to boil some water and cook the cellophane noodles for about 2 minutes. So, an intsy bit of cooking!

So, for construction! First, soften a rice wrapper in a large bowl of warm water. This takes maybe 5-10 seconds. You’ll get the hang of it and be able to tell when you can take it out after a wrapper or two. Then remove the wrapper from the water and put on a flat surface. Put some cellophane noodles in the center and pile on the toppings of your choice.

The next step is to fold over one side of the wrapper.

Now you do your best to kind of scrunch it tight and roll it once, then tuck fold over the sides so that they line up with the length of your roll and keep on rollin’! Because the wrapper is wet it’ll self seal.

Ta da!

I made some veggie for the roommate and some shrimp.

The peanut sauce is pretty simple too. Whisk together in a bowl:

1/4 c Peanut Butter
1 Tbsp Hoisin Sauce
1 Tsp Lime Juice
1.5 Tsp Soy Sauce
1 Tsp Sugar
1 Tsp Chile Paste
1 Crushed Garlic Clove
1/8 Tsp Sesame Oil
Less than 1/4 c Water

Whisk everything but the water together, save the water for last. Otherwise it becomes a big splashy mess!

So fresh and so tasty!!
These were a pretty big hit with everyone.

Everyone.

What’s your favorite fresh dish?

